Crustaceans are one of two main classifications of shellfish, with the other being mollusks. This family of fresh and salt water creatures includes crabs, crayfish, lobster, prawns and shrimp. The nutritional profile varies little from species to species, and all are covered in an exoskeleton made from chitin—a non-digestible carbohydrate. See individual crustaceans to learn more about selecting and storing, preparation and health benefits.

Selecting and Storing Crustaceans

See individual crustaceans.

Preferences: No Fish, No Red Meat, No Pork, No Eggs, No Gluten, No Nuts, No Seeds, No Soy, No Dairy, No Poultry, No Corn, No Yeast, No Peanuts, No Molds, No Tubers, No Citrus, No Nightshade, No Legumes, No Grains,

About The Author

Kelley Herring, founder of Healing Gourmet, is a natural nutrition enthusiast with a background in biochemistry. Her passion is educating on how foods promote health and protect against disease and creating simple and delicious recipes for vibrant health and enjoyment.

Kelley Herring – who has written posts on Healing Gourmet.

Speak Your Mind


 Name: Email: We respect your email privacyEmail Marketing by AWeber