Omega 9 Fats

Omega-9 fatty acids are a family of unsaturated fatty acids.

Two of the most well-known omega-9 fatty acids are oleic acid and erucic acid. Oleic acid is a main component of olive oil and other monounsaturated fats.

Erucic acid is found in rapeseed (canola oil), wallflower seed, and mustard seed.

Unlike omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, omega-9 fatty acids are not classed as essential fatty acids (EFA). This is both because they can be created by the human body from unsaturated fat, and are therefore not essential in the diet, and also because the lack of a double bond keeps them from participating in the reactions that form the eicosanoids.

Lipomics. Mead acid. Retrieved on February 14, 2006.

About The Author

Kelley Herring, founder of Healing Gourmet, is a natural nutrition enthusiast with a background in biochemistry. Her passion is educating on how foods promote health and protect against disease and creating simple and delicious recipes for vibrant health and enjoyment.

Kelley Herring – who has written posts on Healing Gourmet.

Speak Your Mind


 Name: Email: We respect your email privacyEmail Marketing by AWeber