Soy sauce – a staple in Asian cooking – is a made by fermenting boiled soybeans and roasted barley or wheat.

While there is essentially one main type of soy sauce produced in the United States, China and Japan produce a number of varieties with a diverse range in color and flavor. Light soy sauce is thinner and saltier than dark soy sauce. Japanese tamari is thick, rich and extremely dark.

Soy sauce is used to flavor soups, sauces, marinades, meat, fish and vegetables, as well as for a table condiment.

Because of the dangers associated with consuming genetically-modified soybeans, Healing Gourmet recommends organic soy or tamari sauce (wheat and gluten-free) made with non-GMO soybeans.

Selecting and Storing Tamari

Store soy sauce in a cool, dark place.

 Name: Email: We respect your email privacyPowered by AWeber Email Newsletters 
Preferences: No Fish, No Red Meat, No Pork, No Eggs, No Shellfish, No Gluten, No Nuts, No Seeds, No Corn, No Dairy, No Poultry, No Molds, No Tubers, No Yeast, No Peanuts, No Citrus, No Nightshade, No Grains,

About The Author

Kelley Herring, founder of Healing Gourmet, is a natural nutrition enthusiast with a background in biochemistry. Her passion is educating on how foods promote health and protect against disease and creating simple and delicious recipes for vibrant health and enjoyment.

Kelley Herring – who has written posts on Healing Gourmet.

Speak Your Mind


 Name: Email: We respect your email privacyEmail Marketing by AWeber