Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List (Unsafe Ingredients)

unsafe gluten-free food list

Adopting a gluten free diet can be a challenge. We have put together several reference pages to help ease your transition.

In addition to the gluten-containing foods below, also be sure to check out our safe gluten-free food list, gluten free alcoholic beverages and foods and ingredients with gluten.

Foods Containing Gluten: Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List

Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
Barley Hordeum vulgare
Barley Malt
Beer
Bleached Flour
Blue Cheese (made with bread)
Bran
Bread Flour
Brewers Yeast
Brown Flour
Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
Bulgur Wheat
Cereal Binding
Chilton
Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Couscous
Dextrimaltose
Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate
Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
Edible Starch
Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
Farina
Farina Graham
Filler
Flour (typically wheat)
Fu (dried wheat gluten)
Germ
Graham Flour
Granary Flour
Groats (barley, wheat)
Hard Wheat
Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Kamut (Pasta wheat)
Malt
Malt Extract
Malt Syrup
Malt Flavoring
Malt Vinegar
Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Matzo Semolina
Mir
Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)
PastaPearl Barley
Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)
Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
Rye
Seitan
Semolina
Semolina Triticum
Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Small Spelt
Spirits (Specific Types)
Spelt (Triticum spelta)
Sprouted Wheat or Barley
Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Strong Flour
Suet in Packets
Tabbouleh
Teriyaki Sauce
Textured Vegetable Protein – TVP
Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
Triticale X triticosecale
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
Udon (wheat noodles)
Unbleached Flour
Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
Vegetable Starch
Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
Wheat amino acids
Wheat Bran Extract
Wheat, Bulgur
Wheat Durum Triticum
Wheat Germ Extract
Wheat Germ Glycerides
Wheat Germ Oil
Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
Wheat Nuts
Wheat Protein
Wheat Triticum aestivum
Wheat Triticum Monococcum
Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
Whole-Meal Flour
Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

Questionable Unsafe Gluten-Containing Foods

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

Artificial Color
Caramel Color
Coloring
Dextrins
Flavoring
Food Starch
Glucose Syrup
Gravy Cubes
Ground Spices
Maltodextrin
Maltose
Miso
Modified Food Starch/Modified Starch
Monosodium Glutimate (MSG)
Mustard Powder
Natural Flavoring
Shoyu (soy sauce)
Smoke Flavoring
Soba Noodles
Soy Sauce
Starch
Stock Cubes
Vitamins
Wheat Starch

 

References 
Federal Register (4-1-96) 21 CFR. Ch.1, Section 184.1444 2.Additives Alert, an information sheet from the Greater Philadelphia Celiac Support Group, updated early in 1997. This specific information comes from Nancy Patin Falini, the dietitian advisor for the group and a speaker at a national celiac conferences in the past few years. 3. From the CELLIAC Listserv archives, on the Internet, Donald D. Kasarda, posted November 6, 1996.

About The Author

Kelley Herring, founder of Healing Gourmet, is a natural nutrition enthusiast with a background in biochemistry. Her passion is educating on how foods promote health and protect against disease and creating simple and delicious recipes for vibrant health and enjoyment.

Kelley Herring – who has written posts on Healing Gourmet.


Comments

  1. Mary Jane Remian says:

    Have been enjoying fresh corn tortilla chips from a local grocer. Ingredients listed include sodium hydroxide, propionic acid, methylparaben and propolyparaben. I have had Celiac disease for many years but recently am experiencing flareups, causing me to reevaluate everything I eat. Love these corn chips but wonder if there is anything in the above that might be contributing to my recent problems.
    Would appreciate feedback. Thank you

    • Kelley Herring says:

      Hi Mary,

      I’m shocked that there are parabens in corn chips. Parabens are endocrine disrupting compounds that are typically found in personal care products and act as a preservative. Parabens have been linked to hormone-dependent cancers like breast cancer. Corn chips are NEVER healthy due to their high glycemic index and genetic modification. This variety you speak of might be one of the worst food products you could ever consume.

      If you like chips, an alternative to consider are Siete Tortilla Chips made from almond flour and cassava. With that said, a diet based on whole foods – not packaged, processed and refined junk – is what our bodies need to be healthy… and prevent chronic disease.

      Hope this helps.

      Be Well,
      Kelley

Speak Your Mind

*

 Name: Email: We respect your email privacyEmail Marketing by AWeber